My Other life

vec6

I always had a spatial place for my gear in my hurt especially the ones I got after a long wait, in 1998 I was still a student and buying a camera was too much for my budget, and I wanted to stop photographing with compact cameras and take it up a notch, so I did what I always did when I wanted something so badly, I started saving, that year there was a new

 era in photography, Advantix cameras, they have a new format of films, they were really advance, and one of the features I loved about is a button that allow you to “delete” a photo that you think was not good or you did not like! nice ha 🙂 , what that button really do is put a mark on that photo in the film so that when you take your film for development the machine that will do the work will see that mark and wont print the marked photo, I know you are now saying “Why I haven’t heard about this before?” well, Advantix Technology did not have enough time to be exposed to the world, it was soon killed by digital, which we all are using now, getting back to the subject now, after my research and saving I rested on a choice, I wanted the best advantix camera I could buy and it was my beloved Minolta Vectis S1, I really loved that camera, I started to take some good photos with it, but to be honest it was all on auto, I’ll scan some of them one day and show them to you, I also bought some magazines to learn about photography, but was not that much of a help to me. at a later time I became buys with my job and developing films was too expensive for me, so I stopped photographing till a later time… (to be counted)

But for now I’ll leave you with some photo I took for my good old Vectis, Enjoy.

vec1

It was also splash proof.

vec2

The bag in the back ground is the one I got with my camera.

vec7 

Minolta, Gone but not forgotten.  

Vec3 

Yes I lost the lens cap.

vec4 

 It was really advance.

vec5

My Full gear, I guess I was a Lowepro fan all that time and never knew 🙂

Thank you for reading. 

 

 


5 Comments on “My Other life”

  1. moayad says:

    I’m it’s a good camera and all… but it’s really ugly!

    :p

    what’s the red dot on the side of the lens for?

  2. Maha says:

    This is the first time i know about marked picture in the film camera ( thanks for info.)
    i can`t believe that u lost lens cap.. u seem that u take care of ur things 🙂

  3. feras says:

    Moayad, this camera is an SLR, and the red dot is to aline the lens with its position from inside when fixing it.

  4. Khalid says:

    nice story .. yeah u still lowepro fan 😛

  5. haitham says:

    nice to read this… my first camera is Minolta too but it is point and shoot type….. I have to admit these pictures are great and it is good learning as commercial photography


Leave a Reply

