Product Review, Joby-Gorillapod SLR

gr1

I got sick from carrying my tripod with me, especially if I’m walking on my feet for hours, so I started looking for a substitute, and found a lot of things, like the Manfrotto 709B, POD, and the Joby-Gorillapod, and since I’ve read and heard a lot about the Gorilla, I decided to get one, bought if from the UK for 40 pound, and here is what I think of it:First, I don’t think it was called “The Gorilla” for it looks, it makes you jump from one place to another looking for a place to hang it, just like a gorilla. No what’s good and whats bad, is the impoprtant thing:

 Good:   

  • Small & Light.
  • Flexible.

Bad:

  • Over Priced.
  • Tricky To Use.
  • Can’t hold big Lenses. 

 In Depth: Some times you get so lazy to carry a tripod when you go out to photograph, not knowing  (or hope) that you won’t need one, but then a time come were you wished you had a tripod with you or at least something you can use instead, well, the Gorrillapd is the “something”, it so light you’ll forget that you have it, and it does the job, but you need some time to learn the weight&balance tricks on how to fix it, and it is not easy, second thing it does not hold well on wet objects, the rubber gray bands around the black balls holds well on dry  objects only but not with heavy lenses, for that you the Gorillapod SLR-ZOOM, pictured Below:

slr 

and if you are like me, I don’t have huge lenses, the biggest one I have is the Nikon 18-200 mm,  and it does not fix on the pod, because it does not fix to the the pod like the abouve lens. What you’ll notice when you fist use it, is that it does not function very well! that’s beacuse you are not using it properlly, and I don’t mean like the picture below, coz that don’t work in real life!

gp3

Conclusion, it does not substituted a tripod, but is better than nothing.

 

  


2 Comments on “Product Review, Joby-Gorillapod SLR”

  1. kuw_son says:

    you mean the picture below is fake and for commercial use only !!?

    I was thinking of buying one .. but for now i will think twice before deciding ..

    thanks any way 🙂

  2. moayad says:

    The last picture is probably a canon 300D with no lens attached! or at most the standard 18-55 which basically is all plastic, otherwise it is -almost- impossible to balance any heavier thing like this 🙂

    For my 5D, the Gorilla is -almost- useless (the body alone is 895 g), but I still carry it with me because sometimes it comes useful when I can find a suitable surface and an angle that can be achieved with a comfortable balance.

    If you are wondering if it will fit your camera with your favorite lent attached then there is no way you can find out unless you try it first. y3nee tesallefa from Feras for few days :p

    One final note, the Gorillapod SLR is about 25 pound from amazon. So never buy from Jessops again :p


Leave a Reply

